The mind’s ability to trick itself.

This morning, a beautiful morning in early August, I fiddled with a section of my current project. The scene was a planning session with friends gathered to put together a Valentine fundraiser. Of course after writing the initial burst of dialogue that carries the idea, the background needed to be added and the conversation pushed into action. Filling those in involved describing the weather – nasty, winterish, February-in-Wisconsin weather with Valentine Day’s decorations. I was scanning my memory, throwing words on the screen. When I finished and looked out the window the blooming flowers startled me.

About Sharon Hart Addy

Writing is the monkey on my back. Sometimes it's great fun and sometimes it -- well, things can't be fun all the time, but it's still engrossing even when I chew my nails and scratch my head while searching for inspiration. Fiction is my particular fondness. Writing it and reading it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The mind’s ability to trick itself.

  1. katefellowes says:

    That’s what you call getting lost in a story! The other morning I woke up and my first thought was about a character in my current project. I took this as a good sign!

Leave a Reply

