Stepping back for a better view

This morning I’m avoiding rereading the complete first draft — well, really the second draft because I’ve been through the ***first drift — of my women’s novel. After working on it for months, I’ll admit to being a little disenchanted. I still like it; I just don’t feel like working on it right now, so I’m taking a break, writing short stories, catching up with writer friends, reading. All the usual things I do to distract myself.

Maybe later this week I’ll be able to go back to it with ‘fresh eyes’ and see the story line the way I perceived it. What I’d like to do is step backward. Lisa Collier Cool (author of How to Write irresistible Query Letters) stated the way I feel.

“Getting an idea is a little like falling in love: excitement is highest when you first meet.”

It’s been a long time since I ‘met’ this idea, and that type of enthusiasm wouldn’t help me now. A realistic view of what readers will find will be more helpful now. I’m at the cliff edge where the writer looks at the chasm and, instead of viewing wonderfully wild scenery and possibilities for getting across, concentrates on the path leading through it to the other side.

About Sharon Hart Addy

Writing is the monkey on my back. Sometimes it's great fun and sometimes it -- well, things can't be fun all the time, but it's still engrossing even when I chew my nails and scratch my head while searching for inspiration. Fiction is my particular fondness. Writing it and reading it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

