September: new beginnings

Celebration time!

September always feels like the time for new beginnings. Probably because of going to school as a student, teaching, and watching my kids head to school in the fall. I’m sure the stacks of notebooks and pencils in stores inviting words written by freshly sharpened pencils has something to do with the feeling, too. So, I’m pleased and delighted that I was able to step into September with a fresh accomplishment behind me and a time of change in front of me. To be more specific: the women’s novel I’ve been working on is ready for marketing. Tuesday, September 1, I queried an agency.

Phew!

Elizabeth George, in her book WRITE AWAY says,

Remember this. Not everyone can write a novel. In fact, very few people can do it. But you might be one of them. There’s only one way to find out.

Well, I found out. Now I’m crossing my fingers and saying prayers that my characters and their dilemmas will appeal to an agent, an editor, and a publisher, and reach the women I hoped would read about them.

About Sharon Hart Addy

Writing is the monkey on my back. Sometimes it's great fun and sometimes it -- well, things can't be fun all the time, but it's still engrossing even when I chew my nails and scratch my head while searching for inspiration. Fiction is my particular fondness. Writing it and reading it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to September: new beginnings

  1. katefellowes says:

    It’s a good story, Sharon. Warm and moving and sure to appeal to many readers. I love your quote from Elizabeth George. It’s easy to forget that truth and the reminder is a welcome one. Best of luck with the novel!

Leave a Reply

