Turning the 2016 corner

Over the years, and there have been a good number of them, I’ve made many, many New Years Resolutions. Very few of them stuck, mainly because they were in my head instead of out where where I could see them. That’s right:  I didn’t hang a note on the refrigerator with a magnet, or write a message on a Post It note and stick it to my computer. I just kept my resolutions in my head, where they got lost among the floating debris from half-baked ideas. Last year I got wise to what was happening and wrote my resolutions in my weekly planner in the form of a check list, then went on to add those positive actions to each day’s ‘do list’. That worked, so I’m staying with last year’s resolutions (even though the ‘salad for lunch’ and ‘exercise every day’ didn’t really drop my weight.) This year, though, I’ve adopted a motto:

Lighten up!

In other words, look for reasons to smile, smirk, giggle, and laugh out loud. No, I won’t be watching reruns of I Love Lucy, The Beverly Hillbillies, or Petticoat Junction. (Although an occasional Hee Haw is definitely going to happen.) Nope. I’m going to find humor the hard way – by looking at everyday events. If what’s happening around me doesn’t provide smirks, giggles, or belly laughs, at least I can smile at the people around me and do my best to get them to smile back.

So, There!

Go ahead and grin at my foolishness. It’ll make you feel good.

May all your New Year Resolutions be easy ones and your motto –if you choose to adopt one — lead to fun.

 

 

 

About Sharon Hart Addy

Writing is the monkey on my back. Sometimes it's great fun and sometimes it -- well, things can't be fun all the time, but it's still engrossing even when I chew my nails and scratch my head while searching for inspiration. Fiction is my particular fondness. Writing it and reading it.
This entry was posted in Lighten Up!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Turning the 2016 corner

  1. katefellowes says:

    I love this idea, Sharon! My mom used to say, “There’s always something to laugh about” and she was right. My own motto for the year is much less enthusiastic. It’s “Just make an effort!”

Leave a Reply

