Aack! It’s January again.

Yes, I was awake for Christmas and conscious for New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day, and I did change my calendar, but the realization that it’s January 2017 is quite a shock. I was so busy getting ready for the holidays that the fact slipped right past me.

Slipped — is probably the operative word here. At least in Wisconsin. Probably not as operative as in the states west of us where semi trucks routinely slide off roads in winter. We haven’t slid off our driveway, but it is a sheet of ice. Lumpy ice, but still slippery. And the air swirling above it is cold. So when I had a chance to fly to Florida for the weekend, I took it. To quote Governor Jerry Brown:

Life just is. You have to flow with it. Give yourself to the moment. Let it happen.

Or, to paraphrase Sidney, the psychologist on MASH: ‘Pull down your pants and slide on the ice.’ I always liked that statement. It’s much more arresting than ‘enjoy what you can’ and ‘if life gives you lemons make lemonade.’

I loved being in Florida. It seemed incredible that within a three hour plane ride I could be under a palm tree beside a rippling pool, hiding from the sun. Florida is a magic kingdom. I can understand why Walt Disney anchored his dreams there. I’m awfully glad I went. Now when I look out my window at the frozen world I visualize palm trees and rippling water beyond the curve of the horizon. Try it. Maybe you’ll see them, too.

 

About Sharon Hart Addy

Writing is the monkey on my back. Sometimes it's great fun and sometimes it -- well, things can't be fun all the time, but it's still engrossing even when I chew my nails and scratch my head while searching for inspiration. Fiction is my particular fondness. Writing it and reading it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

