Unfinished/unstarted projects

“That reality of life and living — movement from one place to another either in a project or in a state of mind, does not conform with what we imagine or expect or think we deserve so we often leave things hanging unfinished or unstarted.”

Sandra Edwards could have been talking about me when she wrote that. When I started this blog, I intended to post to it once a month. Have I done it? No. Months ago I decided I really needed to get a website going. Have I done it? No. Sandra’s quote touches on one of the reasons: no matter what I do, I’ll never meet my own expectations.  So the question becomes a question of standards and expectations.

As I understand it, when you’re target shooting with a bow, you have to aim higher than the spot you want the arrow to hit. In most situations people are told to aim high, to do their best work, etc. I want my blog and website to be interesting — to offer something of value to anyone who reads it. Therein lies my problem.  What, after all, do I have to offer others? My life is ordinary. I’m a churchgoing wife, mother, aunt, daughter, niece, cousin, housekeeper, writer, knitter, and a very bad piano player who has with a smidgen of computer literacy. Ordinary! Ordinary! Ordinary!

Can ordinary be enough? Maybe taking things on should be like washing kettles: they have to get done so I do them. I don’t worry if the water is hot enough to kill germs or use bleach to cut soap scum that might be left before the final rinse. I just get busy and wash the darn things and I’m rewarded by not having a stack waiting for me.

Ah, I just get busy and feel rewarded. Those are key words in when working toward a goal. Some people set rewards they’ll earn for reaching a goal. Sometimes that works for me. My best motivator is personal blackmail. I tell someone I’m going to do something, then I have to live up to my word. (Oh dear, I think I just did that and I’ll have be post each month or be embarrassed!)

So, tell me, what works for you?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Sharon Hart Addy

Writing is the monkey on my back. Sometimes it's great fun and sometimes it -- well, things can't be fun all the time, but it's still engrossing even when I chew my nails and scratch my head while searching for inspiration. Fiction is my particular fondness. Writing it and reading it.
This entry was posted in Lighten Up!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Unfinished/unstarted projects

  1. katefellowes says:

    You ponder some of the same things I do! A long while ago, I changed my housework standard to “Is it better than it was before I started?” and if the answer is yes, I’m good. It’s all those other, more important things, that hang me up, especially with my writing. I always think, if I only had more time I could do so much. And, it’s true. Days when I get dedicated writing time prove it. But those days are too few. I knew to build in the dedicated time. But, how? When? (Please don’t say 5 a.m.!)

Leave a Reply

